It’s about darn time!

31 01 2012

The last year and a half has been a roller coaster.  (Both emotionally and physically, but here I am just talking about the physical part.)  I went from a PR for a HIM in May of 2010 to beginning Jan. 2012 struggling to run at all regularly, off my bike since FOREVER and a little slow in the pool.  Oh yeah, then there’s this extra 15 lbs. (ok, really 20) of FAT I’m lugging around.

I am such a champ at feeling sorry for myself.   Being the middle of 3 children I’ve had lots of practice.   I know you older children think you had too much responsibility and pressure and you poor, poor youngest children think you were neglected and forced to do all your older sibling’s stuff wearing only hand-me-downs – blah, blah, blah.  What us middle children know is that while the oldest was being carted around to six million activities and pushed too hard and the youngest was being drug along to all those activities what really sucked was being the middle that your parents’ FORGOT AT HOME.

Don’t worry, I’m saving up for a therapist.

Back to my training, or lack of training.  I finally ran out of self-pity and did something I don’t do well at all – I asked for help.  Having been a tri coach and before that a personal trainer and before that a swim coach for many many moons it’s hard to believe I have never had a coach.  I never felt like I was ready to train at the level that in my mind deserved a coach.  I also assumed that I always know what’s best for me.

HA!

Turns out I am fantastic at what’s best for other people but don’t really seem to do the whole ‘what I need to be doing well’ thing very good at all.  I’m sure I can blame it on my parents or my older and younger siblings somehow but I’ll again leave that to the therapist I will one day hire.

For now, let me tell you about my coach.  I am pretty vulnerable and fragile about this whole out of shape thing.  That’s what happens when a most of your life is spent coaching or working with athletes.  Or when you’re the middle child, but I digress.  I knew I needed a coach that I could really, really trust.  Trust for two reasons:  first, I needed someone that I know is building me up and not judging the fitness I don’t have, second, I needed to trust that  my coach would tell it to me straight and kick me in the pants when I’m being whinny and making excuses.

So, I called Carole.  She is the one person I trust to put me back together.  I also know she’s an only child so I figure she’s got just as many issues as me : )  I’m really excited about this new adventure in training which will include a yoga class each week with my sweet daughter.   Great things are on the horizon, I can feel it!!

Actions

Information

7 responses

31 01 2012
Laura

Um, I am an only child and do not appreciate your insinuation that there is SOMETHING WRONG w/ me!!!! Ha.. I was both pushed to be EVERYTHING and treated like a baby. Might have been forgotten at home a couple times too. Can you imagine if you parents didn’t have any other children to pick on how much of that stuff you would have gotten…. ha ha Anyway.. like I said. I don’t have ANY ISSUES! Take it back! 😉 jk

31 01 2012
Heather O

Go Team Estrogen! Lol!

I feel the exact same way that you used to feel about getting a coach…kind of like I’m not good enough and I don’t know if I want to push myself to that level. I always want to make sure triathlon is “fun” for me and I have this predisposition to think that anything that involves a coach is not fun.

Carole however seems like she will be a blast to have as a coach! Kudos to you for asking for and getting help!

31 01 2012
Laura Wheatley

YAY Katie!!! TREAT YO-SELF!!! 🙂

1 02 2012
maggieru

Great news! Can’t watch you rock 2012!

1 02 2012
Sharpie

love you and am excited to follow your journey as just one of your many fans……….

xo.

3 02 2012
Colleen

Yay… welcome to the wolf pack! Sharpie will take good care of you!!! 🙂

4 02 2012
Jill Poon (@tribirdie)

That’s awesome Katie!! Whoot! Whoot!

Leave a Reply

