Dyslexia – finally!

16 12 2011

For the last three or four years I have told anyone that would listen (and plenty that didn’t listen) that my son was struggling with learning.  You can read my previous posts here:  Some People are Idiots and Step one:  Parent Meeting.  We have finally entered a new chapter, an actual professional has done real tests and *gasp* they support what I have been saying all along, my son is dyslexic.

After our fiasco with school testing and lack of interest (on the school’s part, not the teachers) in helping our son we decided it was time to look elsewhere.  Our pediatrician’s office has an educational counseling center so that was our first stop.  Turns out it was one of the best calls I have made in this process.  The psychologist there looked at E’s previous testing, his school work and observed him in the classroom and found tests that she felt needed to be done.

For oral intelligence my son is in the 93rd percentile.  For his visual or written testing he was down in the 50th percentile.  He can read on a 4th grade level, but missed almost every small connecting word (if the an. . . )  When those same words he read in a paragraph were by themselves he was only at 30%. Here’s where it gets good, for letter blends (keeping in mind my son is in 4th grade) he was in the 14th percentile.  He completely bombed the visual perception tests.  ALL.  CLASSIC. DYSLEXIA!!!

I don’t mean to sound happy that my son is dyslexic.  I know that school will always be harder for him.  Because he is “too smart” to qualify for an IEP through the school I will have to work with the school and his teachers every year.  And yet, I am so relieved.  I’m not just a crazy over reacting mom.  I do know my son.

Best of all I got some concrete ideas of what to do next.  Don’t make him suffer through spelling, it won’t help.  Don’t make him continue to try to write when it is such a hindrance to his expressing himself.  Use the technology that is available.  Our number one goal right now is to make it so E is not frustrated in school and is able to express himself fully.  (Not in that wishy washy way, I mean he can’t express himself on the level that he is able to think right now because his writing is limiting him.)

So now we begin a new chapter of working with the school.  Thankfully E’s teacher this year is super supportive and quite possible more importantly  she recognizes how smart E is.  I think for so many years teachers have just thought he was lazy or just average that they were able to dismiss his inability to spell and write because he was passing end of year tests.

On to the next chapter!

 

Actions

Information

8 responses

16 12 2011
Heather O

Glad to hear that you were finally able to get a “diagnosis” on your son! Hopefully the schools will start being more supportive of his needs!

16 12 2011
Jamie

Woohoo! Not excited (like you) about the dyslexia, but excited that the problem was diagnosed.

Very exciting, and I hope it helps a lot now that you’ll have a better understanding of how to tackle the problems he is having.

16 12 2011
Melody Brooks

Glad you finally got a diagnosis and confirmation of what you already knew! Now you can move forward. I have a friend who might be able to help – she’s actually reversed dyslexia for adults and children.

17 12 2011
Carole

FINALLY some answers!!!! I am so grateful you finally have the information you needed so now a you can implement the needed tools. What a journey you have all been on…

xoxox.

19 12 2011
Dana Ward

I have a new website, http://www.glutenfreedomblog.com that I am trying to spread the word about! I love yours! I am having huge giveaways from many wonderful gluten free companies soon and was wondering if you would help me get the word out?! Thanks!

19 12 2011
Kelly Covert (@TrimommyKelly)

Oh, Kati, I know what a struggle this has been for you guys, and I am so happy that you are FINALLY getting some answers!! I definitely think technology is the way to go and remember that your school district is REQUIRED to pay for these tools. I’ve heard of people using Kindle and ipads for their dyslexic children…also those voice recognition programs for writing. Remember, don’t be afraid to FIGHT for what your child needs!!

22 12 2011
Alisa

Glad you were finally able to pinpoint the issue. Now that you know what it is (and it’s something common) hopefully this will bring great relief.

26 12 2011
Colleen

Hey Kati… I’m so glad that they finally gave “it” a name. A mother knows best. And I love your attitude toward helping him cope with things and continue to learn in a way that suits him. Hugs to both of you!!!

Leave a Reply

