Leave it to Sesame Street . . .

28 11 2011

Well, I’ve been around officially now for 39 years.  There has been a lot of great in those years, I’ve seen my fair share of sorrow and pain and I’m sure I’ve created enough drama already to last a lifetime.

Because of the last year (surgery, recovery, slow recovery, hormone upheaval, slower recovery . . . you get the gist) this year seems like the big one to me.  I guess next year (the big 4-0) is supposed to be the BIG birthday, but instead of dreading turning 40 (I think since a lot of my friends and Paul have already turned 40 it just doesn’t seem all that bad), I’m going to embrace my journey to 40.

I have some big things I want to accomplish.  Since I’ve already done the Ironman thing I’m not going that route.  Here are a few of my to-do’s, and I’m keeping a few to myself.  Through it all I’ll keep singing the great song my friend Debbie posted by Will.i.am – What I am.

1.  I want to conquer the trails!  I got a pair of pedals and shoes for my mountain bike for my birthday so I’d like to feel confident on my mountain bike.  When I tackle the big Xterra race I want to not suck at it ; )

2.  I want my body back.  I’ve gotten squishy and floppy.  I don’t like it.  This might be a vain one but I don’t care.   I’m going to get my hormones under control, I’m back in my workout routine and damnit, I’m getting my Ironman body back.

3.  I want to find more to do with my daughter.  As my sweet girl enters the teen years it seems we do less and less together.  As my son hits pre-teen I am finding more and more to do with him.    This year I want to find more in common with my daughter and work really hard on keeping the communication open.

4.  I want to race a half ironman again.  Not just survive or finish, I want to feel fast.

5.  I want to be sitting on a beach or somewhere tropical sipping a drink next to the love of my life on my 40th birthday celebrating 15 years of wedded bliss and 40 years of a life well lived.  I tucked away my birthday money from this year and it started the official 40th celebration fund!  Let the cyber deal stalking begin!!

Actions

Information

One response

29 11 2011
kate

happy birthday! i love this video and am stealing it for my blog. go easy on yourself and enjoy!! you are a strong woman and can do whatever you set out to do.

Leave a Reply

