Looking Forward

8 08 2011

It’s really hard when you are recovering from an event (surgery in my case) to be in the present or even look forward.  I keep grumbling about the runs I used to be able to do.  I find myself thinking wistfully about my old swim sets.  I know it will all come back but it’s just very humbling and frustrating while I’m still in the ‘come back’ phase!

So I’m trying to look forward.  I never got myself signed up for the Beach2Battleship half.  I just couldn’t spend that much money (not really race entry, more the cost of travel) for a weekend.  That combined with all the traveling we have done this summer and the daunting volume of travel I have this fall – it just wasn’t mean to be.

So, what’s a struggling triathlete to do?  Start planning next season!  First up is the OBX marathon.  It’s been a LOOOONG time since I’ve run a stand alone marathon.  I’ve only actually done one and I swore I would never do another marathon without a 112 mile bike before it but what the hell, I’m going to give this one a shot.

The next big race I have decided on is the American Triple T in Ohio.  Much like a stand alone marathon I swore I would not return to this race and willingly experience THAT pain again.  What the hell, I’m going to make Paul partner up with me again for a fun weekend of camping, bugs, leg cramps, sweat and even a few tears.  What more could I ask for!!

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 08 2011
Jill Poon (@tribirdie)

this post reminds me that I haven’t checked in with you in FAR too long!! I’m excited that you are planning for next year! Are you thinking of any long open water swims again? I was thinking about that in the pool today, that a long OWS would be a good goal for next year and I’d love to partner up 😀 😀 😀 I can’t believe you are doing Triple T again, that is so awesome! Go get em girl!

8 08 2011
Maggs

That’s a race i want to do one of the years. I think it sounds like a lot of fun. And pain.

15 08 2011
coachkati

Come join us next year!! It’s such an awesome race!

Leave a Reply

