Travels, Travels, Travels!

20 07 2011

I feel like I could sleep for two days!  My whirlwind travel escapades began with a cross country flight on a Thursday from Roanoke, VA to Portland, OR.  This was my first trip to Portland and, although I didn’t get to see the downtown, I did get to see this for four days:

That’s Mt. Hood, which was in the background for the whole race weekend.  Spectacular is one word I would use.  The other word I would use to describe my work weekend (working for REV3 timing the Portland HalfREV race) is family.  I couldn’t pick a better staff to work with.  Hands down the most fun, caring and dedicated race staff you’ll find around.

The race was Sunday morning and all the reviews I’ve read were glowing.  Everything went off without a hitch and before long we were packing stuff back in the vans and I was off to the airport for my redeye flight back to Roanoke.  Except I got stuck in the Chicago airport.     Mechanical problems, storms and gate changes made for a long morning, but I just threw down $16 for a blanket and slept on the benches.    By 3pm I was back in Roanoke and on my way out to Smith Mountain Lake for a few days with my husband’s side of the family to celebrate my nephew’s graduation from High School.

Six boy cousins and Anna all had a blast playing games, jet skiing, swimming and just hanging out.  It was so fun to see the kids with their cousins!  Got in a short open water swim and lots of fun family time before it was time on Wed. to head straight back to the Roanoke Airport with the kids for a quick trip to San Antonio, TX for my grandfather’s 90th birthday extravaganza!

My kids are rockstar travelers!  Running through the Atlanta airport with our rolling carryons and backpacks because I’m too cheap to pay for checked bags – fantastic!  Our first order of business in San Antonio was to spend the day at Schlitterbahn waterpark.  19 years ago (ack!) I worked at Schlitterbahn, since then it’s grown and grown!  It was so fun to go back and show the kids where I worked and played for 2 fabulous summers.  (The rides were fun too!)

Friday and Saturday were family days.  I grew up with lots of aunts, uncles and cousins.  My mom’s side of the family is big and we grew up close.  Over the last few years having my own family, and a new family (Paul’s) to meld with has sidetracked me from keeping up with my extended family.  It was so amazing to go back to my ‘roots’ and I absolutely loved having the kids get a feel for the even bigger family that they belong to.  I can’t even begin to say how amazing my family is, I will just say that I am very blessed.

Now I’m home.  Whew.  I’m ready to train, eat healthfully and transform back into a triathlete again.  I’ve been hiding behind my surgery for a few months and it’s time to drop the excuses and get back into shape again.  Life is good.

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 07 2011
Andree

you’re a whirlwind!! All sounds fun though-enjoy the process of a training routine again. Life IS good 🙂

29 07 2011
Tri Madness

All this talk of Roanoke and Smith Mountain Lake really makes me miss being back in Carolina and frolicking in the Blue Ridge this time of year. You are one crazy busy lady, Kati.

19 04 2014
Pure Romania

Beautiful pictures and nice words.
Keep doing this fantastic work!

What do you think about Romania. Did you ever visit Romania?

Hugs, Iolanda from Pure Romania – http://www.pure-romania.com

Leave a Reply

