MY PSA of the day

26 05 2011

One of my awesome teammates Jessie posted this video on facebook:

Dear 16 year old me

There are so many things I would say to16 year old me if I could, but get the hell out of the sun is a BIG one.  So far I have been very fortunate to never have had skin cancer.  I was a life guard from 16 until much older than I would like to admit.  I tanned in those death beds before prom.  I added iodine to baby oil and laid out on aluminum foil.    All in all I’m pretty much a walking time skin cancer waiting to happen.

This is why now I pay for the good sunscreen.  We stop and re-apply.  I put my sunscreen on before I go out and run.   AND I CHECK.  I watch my moles, I watch my husband’s moles.   Please stop and watch then check your moles, wear your sunscreen and protect your skin.

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 05 2011
savannah

Where were you when I was 16? I spent everyday in the sun and NEVER considered sunscreen. Waiting for my skin cancer bomb to go off…..

28 05 2011
Jamie

I’m with ya sister! With all the sunburns I’ve had in my life, the skin cancer situation is more of a “when” than an “if.”

Scary, but gotta try to catch it early.

30 05 2011
kate

good to turn over a new leaf, but the damage is done and you will have to deal with it. I know I will because I grew up in FL

Leave a Reply

