Post-Surgery Recovery

11 04 2011

I have been a bit down that my recovery has been slower than I expected.  I was sure by one week out I would be done with pain meds, fully functional with a few naps here and there.  It seems that my body has it’s own time schedule for recovery.  Don’t get me wrong, I am so much better than I was even 4 days ago.

Instead of taking pain meds every 4 hours I am only taking them every 7 – 8 hours.  I drove my son to school today – my first time driving in a week!  (instigated by the fact that I am not taking pain meds : )  My biggest problem is my stomach is just not back to normal.  I’m not hungry – which for me is a miracle!  I love food and always err on the side of more food.  Stress eating, check!  It’s just odd to me not to want all the junk food that’s laying around the house.   With wonky intestines to begin with (celiac disease) it seems that surgery has just sent them into shock!

So far it seems that have been approaching my recovery from a superficial standpoint.  Rest for a few days and poof – body is all better.  It seems that it’s a bit more complicated than that.  So, I have decided to approach my surgical recovery from the same approach I bring to my training and recovery.   If I’m not taking enough calories (and the right kind of calories) in, there’s no way my muscles, tendons etc. are going to mend themselves.  Without rest my body won’t put the energy into fixing itself.  And then there’s exercise.  I can’t do what I consider exercise yet, but I can walk and walk and walk – interrupted by periods of rest and lots and lots of water.

I’m not sure why I  haven’t thought of it before now, but I’ve got the best recovery drink that’s out there – First Endurance Ultragen.  Two scoops of my yummy cappucinno gives me an extra 200 calories of all good stuff.  This morning I mixed it up with my coffee and it was perfect.  Next up – walk, water and a nap!

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 04 2011
Jill

you are doing great!!! The type of surgery you had isn’t an easy recovery, so don’t be too hard on yourself!!

A friend had a similar surgery to you and it was a much hard recovery than c-section or anything similar!

Thinking of you!

11 04 2011
Sharpie

Loving you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

xoxooxox.
C.

Leave a Reply

