Working with what I can.

7 03 2011

I’m not sure if my above statement is grammatically correct or even makes sense but it makes sense in my head so I’m going with it.

I read a lot of other blogs.  Most of the blogs I read are tri or running related.  Around this time of year a lot of blogs are about great workout schedules or breakthroughs in one sport or fantastic races.  I’m read all these and I’m happy for the authors, really I am.  Except part of me is not.  Part of me is bitter and grumbling because I’m not having great breakthrough workouts.  I’m not racing well, I’m not even training all that well.

The thing is there are a lot of out of my control factors swirling around right now, some of those are down right preventing workouts from getting done, and some are just overwhelming and stressing me so that I shut down and don’t try.  So now I’m working on working with what I can control.

I can’t control aging in-laws that need our help.  I need to be there when they need me, period.  What I can control is going to bed earlier and getting up to fit in workouts that I can do in the early morning before I need to go help.  I can get up and work on strength or hop on the trainer or do my am yoga, all before I need to go anywhere or do anything for anyone else.   That way even if my swim or run doesn’t happen I don’t end up at 9 pm after a long day staring at my trainer cussing before going to bed cussing for missing my trainer ride.

I can’t control the learning difficulties my 8 year old is having.  I can continue to work with (or badger, whichever seems to be working at the time) his teachers to try and figure out what is going on and help him.  Stress eating doesn’t help make his problems any better, so I am working on planning out food better and having good, healthy whole foods on hand so that I don’t go the lazy route of opening up a bag of tortilla chips instead of a healthy snack.

I still can’t control my Endomitriosis that is getting in the way of my running right now.  I can watch my diet carefully and reduce my stress (ha!) and take my Multi-V and wait for help from the doctor.  I can also work on my swim and bike and try to shed my extra few lbs so that when I can run again I have less weight to haul around.

So, there you have it – control what I can and the rest just is.

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 03 2011
Andree

you got a good head Katie!! I know from experience it’s VERY hard sometimes to watch others “move ahead” when you’r eat a stand still…or seemingly so. I think by focusing on what YOU can cotrol you are moving ahead, and it will pay off 🙂

8 03 2011
Colleen Kingery

((HUGS)) I just want you to know that I’m thinking about you and you have such a good attitude about everything. Yep, control what you can!

8 03 2011
Jill

Really all I have are giant HUGS to you and to reiterate what Andree and Colleen have said, your attitude and spirit are amazing and you are an inspiration to those around you. Just keep rockin’ what you can rock! 😀 The best about challenges is the strength you find in yourself to meet and beat them! okay that’s bad grammar as well, but I’m going with it 😀

Leave a Reply

