Gluten Free Spaghetti and Meatball Sauce – YUMMY!

5 02 2011

I’ve attempted making homemade spaghetti sauce before and bless  his heart my husband has even eaten the stuff I made but it wasn’t pretty.   Since I am still eating (and loving) my Paleo diet I needed to make my own sauce that was sugar free and free of extra salt.  I’m not sure if canned tomatoes are o-k on the Paleo diet, but I got organic, gluten free, salt free canned tomatoes – that’s the best I can do!

My New Favorite (and super easy) Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs:

Sauce:

1 can tomato paste

2 cans Tomato Sauce

2 cans Petite Diced Tomatoes (I used organic w/ fire roasted tomatoes and onions) – I like my sauce less chunky so I put in one can as is and tossed the other in the food processor for a few seconds.

1 package Mushrooms (I like mini portabello) sliced

1 med. zucchini diced

1 tbsp. olive oil

3 cloves garlic minced

Garlic Powder (1/2 tsp.)

Crushed Red Pepper (to taste – if you like it a little spicy add more, I don’t so I just added a tinsy bit)

Italian Spices (pinch)

A good splash of red wine (I like a nice dry merlot)

Heat Olive Oil in big pot, sautee Zucchini and Mushrooms and Garlic until tender.  Throw in the tomatos (all cans) and spices.  Toss on the lid and let it simmer while you make the meatballs.

Metballs:

2lbs. organic grass fed ground beef (or any combination of ground meats that you like, next time I will do 1 lb. ground chicken and 1 lb. ground beef)

1/4 c. almond ground meal

1 clove garlic minced

1 or two shakes of Italian seasonings

1 egg

Throw it all in a food processor and letter whirl.  I formed the meatballs and put them directly into the simmering sauce.  (I just saw a Food Network show about this so I assume it’s safe!)  I let the sauce simmer and cook the meatballs for an hour.

I served the sauce and meatballs over Spaghetti Squash.  It was fabulous!!!

Actions

Information

One response

6 02 2011
Mandy

Oh…I never thought of putting it all in the food processor! Sounds yummy! I LOVE Spaghetti squash!

Leave a Reply

