Let the REAL planning begin . . .

29 12 2010

I know I’ve posted a *few* times about our upcoming trip to Costa Rica, but with it quickly approaching I figured it was time to start my real planning.  That’s right – I’m making my notebook, starting the packing lists, squirreling fun little travel things away . . . I’m such a wacky traveler!!

First and foremost it’s time to go into money squirreling away mode!  Every spare penny is going into savings to finance our excursions and adventures.  I’ve  started to scour the net for our specific excursions that we will do.  Here is my list of must see / do while we are there.

1.  TURTLES!!  We are staying our first 5 days in Playa Grande, which is located at the Parque Nacional Marino Las Baulas, where the Giant Leatherback turtles nest.  We are keeping our fingers crossed that we are actually able to see turtles either nesting or hatching (or both!)  For this we are booking a pm guided tour and the hatching is done at daybreak.  

2.  Surfing.  We are going to give surfing a go while in Playa Grande.  I am not too optimistic about my surfing abilities, but feel pretty certain that hubby and the kids will do great.  (mostly because I am afraid of the critters in the ocean!!)  Our hotel has surf board rentals, I am on the fence about taking a surfing lesson.  I think some of this will depend on how much our car rental costs, bike transport costs and food costs.

3.  REV3 racing!  I still don’t know which race I am doing, if any race at all.  I might just skip the racing and help out with the race.  This is all dependent on bike shipping costs.   The airline jacked up the fees a month or so ago so we are thinking the cost to ship two bikes might just be more than we are able to pay.  Since our trainers are packed away with no room to put them up in our house I’m just not sure about how it will go to do a half ironman on no bike training.

4.  Rincón de la Vieja National Park – We are heading here for a day, I just haven’t decided on which tour or what we will be doing.  Maybe we’ll do our canopy tour here?  We might just hike and explore the volcanoes while here.  Too many choices!!  

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 12 2010
Andree

I can not wait to see you in Costa Rica!! If you decide not to race I would love to have you help keep me calm in prep for mine….after 1 1/2 year layoff! I will have 6 weeks to get in something resembling bike shape after the marathon in Jan-yikes. In any event it’s going to be a FUN trip 🙂

30 12 2010
Colleen Kingery

I’m so jealous of your trip! Looks like you have a ton of great things planned. Please take tons of pictures and then share them so we can all live vicariously through you! 😉

30 12 2010
Meredith

Dave and I took a surfing lesson while vacationing in Florida last winter. It was so much fun and so worth it. You should try it.

Leave a Reply

