Achieve

28 12 2010

December 28 – Achieve

What’s the thing you most want to achieve next year? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you get it? Free? Happy? Complete? Blissful? Write that feeling down. Then, brainstorm 10 things you can do, or 10 new thoughts you can think, in order to experience that feeling today.

I liked the REVERB10 prompt today, I have been thinking a lot about this as the new year approaches so I thought I would share.  The biggest thing I would like to achieve next year is commitment.  Seems like a funny thing to ‘achieve’, but one thing I really lost this year was my ability to commit to something and stick to it.

As an idea person this has been a problem for me before.  I have a gazillion great ideas but am not always great about following through and sticking to them.  This is part of the reason doing my first Ironman race was so very special to me.  I stuck to my training.  I committed.  It felt great.  I felt like I had lept over a hurdle that I had been running into my whole life.

It seems that the hurdle is back up, I have been back to my old ways of ‘committing’ to a gazillion things, but not really committing to any of them.

As I was swimming today I was thinking of all the hurdles I have allowed to pop up and block my athletic (and sometimes emotional, relational etc.) progress.  What I realized is that lately I have loved to be the martyr.  I am so fast to come to the aid of everyone, but all the while  totally ignoring some of my own very basic needs.  (the top of the list being exercise and training).  So – today is day one of a more selfish me.  It’s hard to do because that means saying no sometimes, and I hate to admit it, but it means I don’t get to be the good guy, helper, come to everyone’s rescue.

To aid my progress I am making a calendar today.   It will have (old school written in ink) workouts for my hubby and I.  Every day we do our workouts we get a star.  I haven’t decided on my treat yet, but I am toying with a few things.  And now that I have recognized what I am doing to sabotage truly committing and achieving I feel relief.   I think when I toe the line at the Nation’s Marathon (because I am committing to the training and really following through) and the Bay Swim I will feel that old feeling I felt when I committed to AND followed through with Ironman training.

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

28 12 2010
atltrihollywood

I do the same thing, only it’s more to people than training. Focus is one of the things on my “improvement” list, not for the new year, but in general.

28 12 2010
Laura

OMG I could have written this post. I think that’s the main reason why I like the longer endurance stuff. No faking it. At least I accomplish something I set out to do … daily w/ my workouts!! And it’s a non-negotiable me time. I know I wouldn’t make time for myself if it wasn’t for the race looming. Good for you and good luck sticking to it. PS. I also LOVE the paper calendar!

28 12 2010
Mandy

Love the calendar idea. I hadn’t seen the REVERB10 before, thanks for sharing that with me.

28 12 2010
beth

I agree. I have a calendar and I put daily and weekly goals. It helps out a ton! You are going to have a great 2011!

28 12 2010
Jeff

If I email you my workouts each day can I get a star too? (-:

Leave a Reply

