Nation’s Marathon Training: Weeks 4 & 5: Progress

29 11 2010

I’m plugging along at my snails pace progressing in weekly mileage.  Week 4 was a 6.2 mile week, two 3.1 mile runs, one of which was  a 5k race with my sister.  We had to have a qualifying time so that she could register for the Nation’s Half Marathon so on very little training we did a small local Thanksgiving 5k.  She made it with a minute to spare and is now registered for the Half Marathon!  Yay!

Now that my back is healed my body figured it was time to f’ around with me a little more and thought piriformis pain was a good way to punish me for whatever I have done to anger it.   (hmm, maybe running around with an extra 10 lbs to carry?)  I’m right now trying to stretch through things and managed to up the mileage last week to 10 miles with 2 4 mile runs and a 2 miler that was supposed to be a 4 miler but was cut short b/c of hip pain.  I’m still feeling good about the progress, 4 miles didn’t feel long and I enjoyed getting out in the cooler temps finally!

The plan for this week is a 3 miler, a 4 miler and a 5 miler which will up my mileage to 12 for the week.  Slow and steady will get me there!  I also have 3 days of strength on the calendar and 2 days in the pool so it should be a productive workout week this week!  I’ll post my full review of my fab-u-lous new Kinvaras this week now that I am running 100% in them!

How are all my other marathon runners doing in their training?

Actions

Information

One response

29 11 2010
Meredith

I haven’t signed up for this race and I’m still working out the kinks with what coach will allow me to do with this marathon, but I’d say I’m 90% committed to this race. My running is around the 20 mile range on a weekly basis right now with my longest run being around 7. I, of course, am also swimming and biking and strength training. There is also a fullrev on the schedule too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

