BE the Change . . .

24 11 2010

You must be the change you wish to see in the world. ~Mahatma Gandhi

I’m not sure what it is about the holidays that brings about the grumpiest and worst in people.   The rushing about, the ‘gotta have’s,’ the me, me, me – it all adds up to not a lot of fa la la, and a whole lot of grrrr.  As I was doing a little pre-Christmas shopping today one of my very favorite quotes popped into my head.  I decided that would be my mantra for the season.

Christmas is my very favorite time of the year and this year I have decided to be the change I’d like to see this season.   I am reading a book to my son, The Autobiography of Santa Clause by Jeff Guinn.  My daughter read it in third grade, she even used it for a book report.  It’s a little much for my son to read on his own so we are reading it together and honestly I think it’s just what he needs this season.  He is the epitome of ME, ME, ME and presents, presents, presents so we are together reading about the real St. Nicolas and selfless giving.

In our house this year Christmas is going to be about family and giving.  I encourage all my blog friends to bring a little change about this season.  Is there something that makes you crazy about the holidays?  Don’t just sit and bitch – be that change instead.

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 11 2010
Jill

Absolutely! I’m going to have to look up that book, sounds great!

27 11 2010
kate

great idea! i’ll check it out.

12 12 2010
A Great Swim « CoachKati's Blog

[…] had a pretty dismal workout week this week, but since I am trying to ‘be the change‘ this season I am not going to wallow in my couch potato week, instead I’m going to […]

13 12 2010
A Shoe Change .. . « CoachKati's Blog

[…] in the spirit of ‘being the change‘ I will approach my shoe change with excitement and will give all my readers some great […]

Leave a Reply

