Sharks Scare the Sh*t out of Me

5 11 2010

I love my husband.  This has often gotten me to do things that scare the crap out of me.  My husband decided he wanted to do the Great Chesapeake Bay swim.   Although my husband is not a natural swimmer he is very comfortable in the open water.  I, on the other hand could swim in the pool all day without tiring but am STILL scared shitless in the open water.

Fear of drowing?  Nope.  It’s the critters.  In the ocean I fear sharks, jellyfish and other large fish type animals.  In the lake it’s also large fish type animals such as gigantic man (woman) eating catfish or large scary water snakes.  Ever seen River Monsters?  I haven’t seen the show but I’ve had plenty of pre-race anxiety dreams that resemble the show.  It happens man.

Which brings me back to my dear husband.  (not the giant catfish, that really looks nothing like my husband : )  Love of my husband got me into the Ohio River 4 years ago to swim 2.4 miles with 2000 of my bestest friends.  I just tried to stay close to folks that looked meatier than me – and believe me at an Ironman that’s no easy task.

Now I must deal with the trauma my parents’ caused me by taking me to see Jaws in 3-D while at the beach.  In June I will enter the Chesapeake Bay with 700 of my new bestest friends to swim with the sharks.  And nettles.  And other things that lurk in the deep.  This also means that I must actually get back in the pool and start swimming again.

So, lets review my new to-do list:

1.  Hours of therapy

2.   Hours of swimming

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 11 2010
Kier

If it makes you feel any better, I was a lifeguard at a summer camp on the Chesapeake (and a camper for years). I NEVER saw a shark there. (I also have the same fear…even in fresh water I start to think about sharks).

6 11 2010
kate

there aren’t sharks!!!! be scared of the currents!!!

7 05 2013
David

I’m happy to read the comment here too 🙂 Swimming this year.

Leave a Reply

