Coach Kati in the Kitchen with the Pumpkin and the Gluten Free King Arthur Flour

26 10 2010

Today was baking day.  And it’s a yummmmy day!!  On the menu was some more gluten free pumpkin choc. chip muffins because my little mangy kids ate all the ones I baked on Sunday, and some good breakfast Pumpkin Cinnamon Bread.  I found that for the muffins I could use the King Arthur Flour muffin mix and substitute 4 tbs. of canned pumpkin mix and 2 tbs. of Canola oil for the oil/butter.  It breaks the gluten free taste and really enhances the taste of the mix.*

I also added about a cup of white chocolate chips to this batch.  My finicky daughter has pronounced that she likes the regular chocolate chips better but what does she know?!

*When I made my FAV-o-RITE King Arthur Pancake mix this weekend I did the same thing with 2 tbs. of pumpkin and you couldn’t even taste the pumpkin but the pancakes were even yummier than usual.  Thumbs up!!

As for the bread, I couldn’t find the exact recipe that I wanted so I found something close online and adapted it to fit my taste and what I had in the pantry.  As soon as the bread finishes it baking I’ll post pictures!

Gluten Free Pumpkin Cinnamon Steusel Bread (adapted from a recipe on Cook it Allergy Free, although hers is healthier 🙂

Ingredients:

2 Cups: gluten-free flour blend (I used King Arthur’s Flour Gluten Free Mix)

1/4 tsp: xanthan gum

2 tsp: pumpkin pie spice

2 tsp: baking soda

1/2 tsp: salt

1/2 Cup: Sugar

1/2 Cup: brown sugar, packed

8 Tbsp: butter, softened -1 stick

2: eggs

2 tsp: vanilla

15 oz. can pumpkin (Libby’s is gluten free!)

Streusel Topping:

1 Tbsp: gluten-free flour blend, (for streusel topping)

2 Tbsp: butter

1 Tbsp: Brown Sugar

2 tsp: pumpkin pie spice, or cinnamon (for streusel topping)

2 tsp: ground flax meal

1 tsp: Certified Gluten Free Oats

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Lightly grease a large (9 x 5 inch) non-stick loaf pan.

2.  In a medium bowl, sift together all purpose gluten-free flour, , xanthan gum, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, and salt until well blended.

3.  In mixer bowl, cream together butter and sugar until fluffy.

4,  Add eggs, one at a time, add vanilla and pumpkin and mix until fully blended.

5.  Gradually add dry ingredients into wet and blend well, but do not over mix.

6.  Pour mixture into prepared large 9 x 5 inch bread loaf pan.

7.  Prepare streusel topping:  Mix together flour, butter, sugar, pumpkin pie spice,  flax, and gf oats.  Sprinkle over the top of the batter, then place in oven and bake for 55 – 65 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

8. Let bread cool for a few minutes, then run knife around edges of pan and remove bread.  Place on rack and let cool completely before slicing.

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 10 2010
Joel

This bread sounds really tasty! May have to try it soon!

27 10 2010
Kelsey@KAF

Hurray for Baking Day! I like the addition of white chocolate chips! I just had pumpkin chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast the other morning. Quite delicious! Thanks for sharing another successful GF recipe!

4 11 2010
Lee Minnix

Hi kati!
This may be an unusual request, but Wendy Beidler gave me your name. I’ve been asked to put together a Marathon of some sort for the Town of Troutville. We are fundraising for our Revitilization of our town and this was a suggestion. I have no knowledge on doing such an event. Wendy told me about the Mother/Daughter triathon, that sounded great. If you can give me some input on where to start, I’d appreciate it. We have a beautiful town park here in Troutville that may even be great for an obstacle course event for the kids..?
any ideas. townoftroutville.com thanks Lee Minnix
p.s. I make cho chip pumpkin cookies all the time. love your recipe !

Leave a Reply

