A Few Words for the Universe . . .

11 10 2010

It’s Monday and I haven’t slept much lately so here I sit at my kitchen table mulling over our current family / life / country / world situation.  What I have come to realize is that our current family crisis isn’t much different than what the rest of the country and much of the world is also going through.   So, here it is world – my words of wisdom for you all.  These are concepts I go over very, very often with my children and as far as I can tell there are lots and lots of folks out there that need a swift kick in the ass reminder.

  • Be nice.  Seriously people, this one shouldn’t be that hard.  Just be nice to other people.  I am seeing more and more that it is not the strangers and their hatefulness that do them most harm, it’s the hatefulness and meanness coming from the people that are supposed to love you that does the most damage.  Just. Be. Nice.
  • Take accountability for your actions.   Under this umbrella we’re going to include don’t lie.  When you f’ something up, apologize and move along.  This childish blame game and turning things on others so that you don’t have to admit you did something wrong is just, well – childish.  Grow up, be accountable and tell the truth.
  • Worry about yourself.  I can’t tell you how many times in a weekend I have to use this one with my kids.  When you are unhappy with yourself here are two surefire things that DON’T work:  1.   Putting other people down to make yourself feel better.  Seriously – all this will do is piss other off, make them feel bad and eventually when  you grow up and realize what an ass you have been you’ll feel worse about yourself.  2.  Band-aids are just that – they cover up whatever is ailing in the short term but you have to heal whatever your wound and deal with it.  Band-aids come in all kinds of forms, but quick fixes (no matter how big they are) are only temporary and you’d better believe when that wound opens up again it’s gonna hurt worse.

Alright, that’s all for now.  I know it’s kind of a dark and gloomy Monday post but I just had to get it out.  I really don’t believe in the gloom and doom of Mondays – it’s another day and a blessing to start a fresh week.  This week I just have a heavy heart as I watch someone I love be hurt, so I needed to get these things off my chest.    I think I need a run today.

Actions

Information

One response

12 10 2010
Andree

Gloomy?? I think it is SPOT ON!!

Leave a Reply

