Half Full Tri

4 10 2010

This past weekend I was very lucky to be able to be a part of the inaugural Half Full Triathlon.  Click on the link to learn more about the event.  Here is a small blurb I took from their site explaining the race:

We believe HALF FULL is having hope and optimism in the face of adversity. Whether it is a 70 Mile triathlon or the fight against cancer, HALF FULL is having the determination and positive attitude to get to your finish line. Surrounded by friends, family and fellow athletes – we are all in this fight together. One Mile at a time, we will finish this race, but more importantly – WIN this cancer battle!

REV3 donated timing services for the event so I was able to get an awesome behind the scenes look at the race and the Ulman Cancer Fund.   Really all I can say is wow.   This was so much more than a race, it was an event and bigger than that it was a celebration of what folks can do when they work together against cancer.

My dear hubby raced the race and didn’t have one bad thing to say.  He said it was just spectacularly run and well supported with more volunteers than you could imagine.  He did say the course was HARD, but I love a good tough course : )

I of course have to mention how much fun it is for me to hang out with my timing guys.  Working with Charlie and crew is just a blast.  I was a little worried about having my hubby there with me for a REV3 timing race – I didn’t want him to know how fun my job is.   (that is while he is at home with 2 kids and I’m ‘working’ a race)  All in all just a fabulous weekend, I am very, very blessed to have an amazing husband, wonderful teammates (that’s YOU Kier) and a great team to work with all the while supporting a fantastic organization.

Now, here are a few shots from the weekend a fun little video.  It’s hard to see in the video, but as a swim coach I love to watch the way people swim.  On the right in the yellow cap is Olympic swimmer and cancer survivor Eric Shanteau, on the left in the orange cap is Rebecca Wassner, professional triathlete and pretty much all around amazing chick as far as I can tell.    I thought it was fun to see Rebecca’s fast swinging open water technique right next to Eric’s long high elbow very traditional pool stroke.  Yes, I’m a swim geek.

Race Morning (with crappy camera)

The finish chute really was a celebration

Our little trailer workspace! AND the elusive Charlie 🙂

Results Tent

First two Survivors into the water

Paul getting ready to hit the water

Kier always full of smiles 🙂

Actions

Information

5 responses

4 10 2010
Tweets that mention Half Full Tri « CoachKati's Blog -- Topsy.com

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kati Derrick, Kati Derrick. Kati Derrick said: Half Full Tri: http://wp.me/pMpGw-h0 […]

4 10 2010
Sarah

Kati, what a lovely review of the race. Thank you for sharing, being there and mostly helping out with an imperative part of our success: TIMING!

Three favorites about your post:
1. The first picture you posted (and only picture of me from the day that I know to exist) is me in all black and a turquoise vest racing down to the swim start after forgetting one of my cameras!
2. The inside peak to the REV 3 trailer.
3. The Eric\Bec video. I heard about their entering together, but missed witnessing it.

If you get a chance to tag that video on youtube as “halffulltri” it will show up on our smash page from the event:
http://www.halffulltri.r2ismash.com/

That would be awesome!

5 10 2010
Brian Satola

Very touched by the selfless support of the Rev3 crew. Great to meet everyone Kati! Very easy to see why you all are successful. Thank you all again from the bottom of my heart! The Ulman Cancer Fund is at a loss for words, but our Mission is stronger than ever. Thank you for helping us change lives.
With Gratitude!

Brian

5 10 2010
Kier

It was so great having you, Paul, and the Rev3 crew (Charlie!) there on race day. 🙂 I feel so fortunate to have you as my teammate.

6 10 2010
kate

so cool to read about this! there’s too much cancer in my family right now and it’s wonderful to read inspirational things about the topic

Leave a Reply

