No Summer Doldroms Here!

11 07 2010

I just saw a news title on a web page that read “We’re in the summer doldrums now!” (see below)  Ha!  I would love some summer doldrums!  Between kids and swim practice, yard sales, trips, ear infections and so on and so on – it’s a full and exciting summer in the casa Coach Kati.  I wouldn’t trade much of it (I could do without the ear infections), but I wish there were a little more time for workouts.  Now I must concede that early morning workouts are the only time I am going to get in regular workouts.  Sigh. 

I used to be a daily early morning riser, but broke the habit with our move and never really got back into the 5 am groove!   So, when it comes to goals for the week I must begin with workouts:  up before 6 am and 100% of scheduled workouts complete. 

Family:  I must do better with dinners.  6pm practices daily (and 5pm meets on Tues.) has simply torn apart our dinner routine.   We are eating on the fly, mostly sandwiches and never sitting at the table.  This week I would like to sit down and eat with the kids a home cooked dinner at least 4 nights.

Self:  I have slacked on my fresh local eating as well.   I would like to get back to fresh local eating this week and drink a min. of 64 oz. of water a day.

**I have to note that I went back to look up how to spell Doldrums.  (I wasn’t sure if it was a U or O) and found a fun definition on Wikipedia.  It’s a nautical term, but the use of it in language is listed as:

In colloquial usage, “being in the doldrums” refers to being in a state of listlessness, despondency, inactivity, stagnation, or a slump, as characterised in Coleridge‘s The Rime of the Ancient Mariner:

All in a hot and copper sky,
The bloody Sun, at noon,
Right up above the mast did stand,
No bigger than the Moon.

Day after day, day after day,
We stuck, nor breath nor motion;
As idle as a painted ship
Upon a painted ocean.

Quoted from Wikipedia

See – you even learned something new from the blog today : )

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

