First Swim Meet of the Season

23 06 2010

I am such a swim mom.  I sit at the side of the pool yelling for my kids as if they can hear me.  You know the one, I am the one yelling, Pull, Pull, Go! at the top of my lungs!  Since we were on vacation last week last night was the first meet of the summer season.   It was also my first meet as a coach for the summer league.

I loved the meet.  HOWEVER, it was hard to watch 120 other kids AND my own at the same time.  I think I missed 2 of my kids events while talking to other kids about their swims.  : (  My kids did great, but I did find out that they lost a lot of swim fitness not swimming over the winter.  (like in my son’s case almost 10 sec. for a 25!)   The good news is that it’s early in the summer and they have lots of time to improve.

I was worried about how it would go coaching my own kids.   We don’t have the best track records when it comes to them listening to me when it comes to swimming and skill.  Mostly I hear “I KNOW how to do it MOM!”  So I was a little bit unsure about how the summer would go with me as one of their coaches.  Thankfully they have been wonderful.  They don’t whine or complain.   I have yet to hear the dreaded “UGH, MOM, I KNOW!” or even get as much as an eye roll.  I’m not saying it won’t happen, I’m not that naive, but I am cautiously hopeful!

I guess I’d better get myself into the pool and swimming since I have a 10,000 yard swim next week!   Eeeek!

Actions

Information

One response

23 06 2010
Jamie

At least you don’t have your hopes up and think that those eye rolls will never come. (or maybe you just haven’t seen them yet..)

They’ll thank you eventually, it just may take 5 or 10 years.

Leave a Reply

