Welcome to June!

2 06 2010

With May in the books  I took a min. to look back on the month.  It was one wacky month for us!  I raced 6 races in the month.  Yowza!  (yes, I just said yowza and I like it!)  As I look at my numbers for the month I realized that most of my swim, bike and run was done in a race – not in training.

180 of my 227 miles on the bike – in a race

43 of my 55 miles run – in a race

I swam 13722 yards, I would guess that about 12000 of that was in a race.

If I could count the naps that I had to take during the week to recover from all that travel it would be astonishing!  I’m not a hour long napper, just a quick 15 min. perks me up and helps me survive the day.

I loved all the races I did.  I’m not sure how I will choose some to give up for next year.  I can’t wait to race REV3 Knoxville again – that bike course was awesome!!  Triple T – I have some unfinished business to get done on that course next year.  Angel’s Race and Smith Mountain Lake Sprint – they are like my roots in triathlon.  The races I have done year after year, old friend you just don’t want to give up even after you have moved on new friends in new places.  I guess there is some decision making to be done for next year, but thank goodness that isn’t until next year!  For now I have to figure out the rest of my season!!

I’m feeling a little lost without any races in the near future!  The only thing on my schedule is REV3 Cedar Point Half in Sept.  and Take Flight in Oct.  I SHOULD learn my lesson from my May and just train over the summer, no travels, no big fancy races . . . .  But I love the races!  So, as I get back up and going with my training I am looking for some balance between over scheduled with no time to train (or no energy and drive to train I guess is more like it) and floundering without a set race schedule!  I’m guessing I’ll have a plan in the next week or so, I am a planner after all!!!

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 06 2010
Jamie

I’ve got the same black hole in my race schedule between Quassy and Cedar Point too. If you find any good races between you and Boston, let me know!

2 06 2010
Andree

Race idea for you (and Jamie-tho not near Boston)-Muncie endurathon mid July-one of my favorite Half Ironman races

3 06 2010
Dave

Just found your blog! Gluten-free athlete here as well (diagnosed last year) and it’s really cool to know that it is possible for a busy mom like yourself 🙂

Hope things are amazing!
Dave

Leave a Reply

