REV3 Knoxville Goals

5 05 2010

“Whether you think you can or whether you think you can’t, you’re right.” – Henry Ford

There has been a difference of philosophy in our house as of late.   Both Paul and I are trying to qualify for the Halfmax national long course championship race.  We both need to have pretty big PR races this weekend in Knoxville in order to qualify.  Here’s where the difference comes in.  I believe I can reach my goal time.  I have never come very close to my goal time.  I have not trained as much (truth be told, not even close) as I would have like for this race.  But – I still believe I can do it.   I think believing I can do it is half the battle, and therefor will bring me to reach my goals.

My husband, on the other hand does not believe he can reach his goal time.  His qualifying time is faster than what I have to do.  He could pretty easily do my qualifying time of 5:45.  5:25, he believes is out of his reach.  I understand reason and logic and numbers, but I personally believe he can reach his goal time.  I also believe that he is setting himself up for failure by assuming his goal is out of reach.   I hope that me believing in him and knowing deep down that he can reach his goal is enough.

What I do know for sure is that if we both miss our goals Paul will still be able to find the good his race.  He will remain upbeat and positive and will be pleased with his results.  I admire that about him and hope that if I fail to reach my goal (which I won’t, because secretly I would really like to meet his goal time : ) ) I will still see that overcoming 70.3 miles is a feat in and of itself.  I want to smile and enjoy the race and celebrate a wonderful event with my family and my Trakkers teammates.  Maybe that needs to be one of my goals?!

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 05 2010
Meredith

My goal this year is also to qualify for Halfmax, but both my half and my full are both HILLY and that probably puts it in jeopardy. See you in Knoxville!

5 05 2010
Kelly

You are a woman after my own heart!! Believing is seeing!!

6 05 2010
goSonja

There is belief, and then there is self pressure. They get entangled sometimes. I find that stepping on the line as a clean slate, ready to tackle the day with the best of your abilities, to race hard, and to be happy with the results….usually yields dang fine results!

I’ll be cheering at the finish!

12 05 2010
Jamie

RACE REPORT RACE REPORT!

Leave a Reply

