Celiac Sucks

25 03 2010

On a day to day basis I am able to tell myself that there are things much worse than having celiac disease.  In general I believe that my celiac diagnosis led me to some major positive lifestyle changes, and led my family to some very positive lifestyle changes.  And then there are days like yesterday.

Mile 5  of the bike ride my waist band started to feel like it was digging into my belly.  Hmm, that lunch I ate before the ride must not be sitting well.  Mile 6 I couldn’t keep anywhere near my riding partner – try as I might.  Mile 7 I was reduced to labor like breathing and had my tights pulled up to my ribs to try and lesson the discomfort of the waistband on my belly.  My wonderfully patient riding partner suggested a break at mile 8 to walk around a bit.  By then I knew it wasn’t the timing of my pre-ride lunch, rather what was in my pre-ride lunch.  Somehow I got gluten – but for the life of me I still don’t know where.

So, what is celiac?  It’s not a food allergy, rather an auto-immune disorder.  From the Mayo clinic website:

Celiac disease is a digestive condition triggered by consumption of the protein gluten, which is found in bread, pasta, cookies, pizza crust and many other foods containing wheat, barley or rye. If you have celiac disease and eat foods containing gluten, an immune reaction occurs in your small intestine, causing damage to the surface of your small intestine and an inability to absorb certain nutrients.

Eventually, the decreased absorption of nutrients (malabsorption) that occurs with celiac disease can cause vitamin deficiencies that deprive your brain, peripheral nervous system, bones, liver and other organs of vital nourishment. This can lead to other illnesses and stunted growth in children

Reactions to gluten vary dramatically.  My son gets very hyper, or more importantly can not concentrate, has a stomach ache and gas that can clear a room.  For me, about 20 min. after I ingest gluten my stomach starts to bloat.  After about 10 min. of bloating my belly looks like I am 5 months pregnant.  It’s like the worst gas pain you can imagine, without the gas to relive the pain.  This can go on for a few hours to a few days.  I usually get a migraine about 3 hours after ingesting gluten, and have achy bones and joints for the next day or two.   From what I have heard my reactions are fairly mild and thankfully they usually only last a day or two.

Some of the other gluten reaction/ celiac symtoms include: (also taken from the Mayo Clinic website)

  • Intermittent diarrhea
  • Abdominal pain
  • Bloating

Sometimes people with celiac disease may have no gastrointestinal symptoms at all. Celiac disease symptoms can also mimic those of other conditions, such as irritable bowel syndrome, gastric ulcers, Crohn’s disease, parasite infections, anemia, skin disorders or a nervous condition.

Celiac disease may also present itself in less obvious ways, including:

  • Irritability or depression
  • Anemia
  • Stomach upset
  • Joint pain
  • Muscle cramps
  • Skin rash
  • Mouth sores
  • Dental and bone disorders (such as osteoporosis)
  • Tingling in the legs and feet (neuropathy)

Some indications of malabsorption that may result from celiac disease include:

  • Weight loss
  • Diarrhea
  • Abdominal cramps, gas and bloating
  • General weakness and fatigue
  • Foul-smelling or grayish stools that may be fatty or oily
  • Stunted growth (in children)
  • Osteoporosis
  • Anemia

My biggest issue is that I am lucky enough to be super sensitive to gluten. Because it’s an autoimmune response it doesn’t matter how much gluten I consume, and because I am clearly advanced at everything I do, my body is super good at detecting gluten.  Residue on the toaster oven from regular bread?  I will react just as severely as if I bit into a big ‘ol yummy loaf of gluten bread.   I suspect toaster residue was the culprit in my gluten reaction yesterday.

Today I am a bit better, but still not able to enjoy the beautiful weather outside while riding my bike.   There are many worse thing that I could have.  Today I am left struggling to appreciate my healthy lifestyle changes and reminding myself two days of missed training aren’t the end of the world.   I’d better go clean my toaster .  . .

Actions

Information

24 responses

30 03 2010
Kendra

Do you share a toaster with gluten bread??

6 04 2013
Daniel Barsook

Kati, I really really really hate having celiac disease and here’s why. I already have an extremely rare physical disabilty Myoclonic Epilepsy with Ragged Red Fibers. It’s not the celiac diet but the combination because the MERRF makes it hard to cook. My muscles twitch or spasm when I do fine motor activities like cooking or slicing veggies. And, now I can’t enjoy restaurants either….ahhh!!!!!!

2 09 2013
Ibs Severe abdominal Pain

Good site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find excellent writing like yours nowadays.
I seriously appreciate individuals like you!
Take care!!

24 09 2013
nero recode 2014 télécharger

I’m not that much oof a online reader to be honest but your sites really
nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back
later on. All the best

2 10 2013
SEO services

I have read so many articles on the topic of the blogger lovers except this piece of
writing is genuinely a nice post, keep it up.

2 10 2013
Sue

I just couldn’t depart your website before suggesting that I really loved the standard info
an individual provide to your visitors? Is going to be back steadily to inspect new
posts

22 10 2013
Genesis

Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we
have created some nice pracices and we are loolking to exchange strategies with others,
why not shokt me an e-mail if interested.

14 11 2013
Alphonse

Pretty! This wwas an extremely wonderful post.
Thanks for supplying this information.

26 11 2013
Orlando

I aam noow not positive where you are getting your information,
however great topic. I needs to spend a while finding out much more or figuring out more.
Thank you for fantastic information I was on the lookout for
this info for my mission.

4 01 2014
Nereida

Hi, constantly i used to check web sife posts here in the early hours in the
dawn, since i like to learn more andd more.

5 01 2014
Jerry

Hi, after reading this awesome paragraph i am as well delighted to share
my knowledge here with friends.

4 02 2014
cars for cash sussex

Hope you don’t mind that I’m bookmarking your website. Really can’t wait
to pop back!

8 02 2014
jailbreak ps3

Hi! Quick question that’s totally off topic.
Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web
site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4.
I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might
be able to correct this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.

Cheers!

10 02 2014
quotes on success

Why viewers still make use of to read news papers when in this technological globe all is accessible on net?

6 03 2014
peter pan quotes

Excellent way of describing, and pleasant piece of writing to get data on the topic of my presentation subject, which i am going to convey
in institution of higher education.

8 03 2014
islamic quotes

Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. Nevertheless think about if you
added some great photos or videos to give your posts more,
“pop”! Your content is excellent but with images
and video clips, this website could undeniably be one of the best in its niche.
Good blog!

29 03 2014
inspirational quote About life

You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually one thing that I feel I’d
never understand. It sort of feels too complex and extremely extensive
for me. I’m taking a look forward to your subsequent put up,
I will attempt to get the dangle of it!

21 04 2014
www.youtube.com

Hi! I know this is kind of off-topic but I needed to
ask. Does building a well-established website like yours require a massive amount work?
I’m completely new to writing a blog but I do write in my journal on a daily basis.
I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and feelings online.
Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
Appreciate it!

19 05 2014
google.com

Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my website so i got here to
return the favor?.I am trying to to find things to enhance my
website!I suppose its good enough to make use of some of your concepts!!

4 06 2014
buy junk vehicles leicester

I am thinking of installing my own personal blog site.
Can you give me two or three ideas?

10 06 2014
what's my car worth

Do you have any tips about creating a blog site?
I’m really bored of doing the same kind of thing at the office and need something mroe challenging.

7 07 2014
Volkswagen Buyers Guide

This really inspires me. I simply wish I could be able to write as passionately as you do.

10 07 2014
wez-favourite-cars.tumblr.com

Fantastic read. Great ideas, well-made. I do believe
your are just right there.

25 07 2014
auto buyers

Yep, totally agreee. You have hit the nail on the head
completely

Leave a Reply

