The Difference between what I THINK I can do and what I can actually do . . .

5 02 2010

Have you ever seen something and thought to yourself – Hey, I can totally do that!  I can even picture myself doing it in my head.  About two years ago I saw a kid doing a cart-wheel.  Now I was a gymnast for years growing up, so naturally I thought to myself – Hey, wouldn’t a cart-wheel be fun?  Let me just pause here.  Some of you might be reading this and thinking, hey, I bet I could still do cartwheels.  Before you try, keep reading.  I did my fun little kartwheel and nearly ripped my groin area in two.  I could barely walk for about two days.

Good thing I have a short memory.  I was drooling over the Athleta catalog yesterday and admiring all the amazing yoga poses the models were doing.  (and of course the pretty overpriced clothes they were doing them in!)  That’s when I came across one that I thought to myself, Self, I could totally do that!  Yep, I even pictured my OHM serene yoga self strong and centered in my awesome head stand.

So, as you can imagine I had to try it.  Turns out that #1, head stands are harder than they look, #2, head stands hurt more than you would think and #3, I really can’t do a head stand any more. 

This of course led to the whole family attempting the head stand.  Surprisingly Paul was the big winner, the only one able to get into an actual head stand without assistance.  Not for long – I will master the head stand!


Actions

Information

2 responses

5 02 2010
Kendra

There is no difference between what you think you can do and what you can do. You just need to work up to some things. It’s not like you went out and did an ironman the day you signed up! 🙂

6 02 2010
Jamie

I can completely relate. I was on a mission to master a head stand last year. After a lot of headaches, I got a lot better, but never quite mastered it. Lots of practice and consistency and you’ll get there.

Leave a comment