First Race of the Year

1 04 2008

Hopefully not indicative of the rest of the year, my first race of the year was as a spectator. My husband, brother in law & 2 friends all did MAP in Huntersville, NC last weekend. Because I have been sick I got to watch & play support crew. I thought it would awful & hard to not race & just watch but really I had a blast.
First I got to cheer my husband on, which I never get to do because I am always racing with him. I screamed at him a lot along the way, too much I am guessing he would say. He had a fantastic race & I was very proud of him. Ditto for my brother in law, he is just fast & continues to get faster.
No offense to the boys but the highlight of the race was being there to cheer my dear friend Renee on through her first triathlon. I am doing my Ironman to support the charity Renee and her husband started http://www.garrettswings.org/ through the Janus Charity Challenge after they lost their son to Infantile NCL in December.
It was so cool to see her perservere, in many ways – first she went through 6 months of caring for a terminally ill child, and the last three months of grieving for the loss of her child, second she began her training not knowing how to swim or ride a bike, and finally the weather was HORRIBLE – wind, cold, rain & HAIL – and she kept going.
She rocked. So, even though I was on the sidelines it was an awesome day!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

