The North Pole Goes Gluten Free

8 12 2010

12-11-2010 UPDATE #2 – the contest is up!  You can vote once a day (by leaving a comment on the blog) vote often and vote for mine!  (hint, you can clearly see the North Pole sign on my houses!)

12-11-2010 UPDATE – the contest isn’t up yet, thank you all who have offered to vote!  I’ll update as soon as it’s live!

Around noon today I realized I HAD to iron a bunch of my husband’s pants.  Not because he expects it.  Not because he can’t do it himself.  Mostly because I was going to be embarrassed if everybody got home from school/ work this evening and the ONLY thing I did today was make a ginger bread house.

Most people picture a nice little house that comes from a kit and tastes like cardboard when they think gingerbread house.  Not in this house.  First you have to find a gluten free gingerbread cookie recipe.  (preferably one that tastes good!)  I found my recipe from last year that worked great at Only Sometimes Clever.  I cut my own (only partially fitting) template and whipped up enough Royal Icing to glue ANYTHING together!  

With two houses of somewhat equal size I decided to GO BIG this year and make our very own North Pole.  After raiding the candy isle of 3 different stores we I was ready to go!   I have to admit here that while the kids were at school and my hubby was at work I really spent my entire day (minus the time spent ironing pants) working on my Gluten Free North Pole.  And it – was fun.  I even let the kids help when they got home from school!

Now I might be a weeee bit over the top, but not only was it so much fun, but it has the potential to WIN ME STUFF!  I might be a tad bit competitive, so that might just have been a bit of a motivator to make it all just right.  The contest is at one of my favorite gluten free blogs, Cook it Allergy Free.  The winner gets an Ipod touch, so it’s no small contest!  So my blog friends, check out the masterpiece and beginning Friday please, please go to the blog and VOTE FORE ME!!!  (or more importantly vote for Santa and his gluten free village : )

 

The Elves' Toy Factory (those are little gingerbread elves on the walk way)

The frozen pond out front w/ Elves skating and Santa's sleigh in the back - it's even filled with presents!

Casa Santa and Mrs. Clause (you can see Rudolph hanging out behind the house)

Mrs. Clause getting the mail

The whole shebang! Santa and Mrs. Clause go Gluten Free : )

Actions

Information

13 responses

8 12 2010
Colleen Kingery

That’s adorable! I’ll definitely vote! btw – I’m a new Trakkers member and just wanted to say hi! :)

8 12 2010
Kim - Cook It Allergy Free

Kati! You have done an amazing job!! I love how you got lost in the project all day long! And that was the funniest story about having to iron your husband’s pants to prove that you got more than just a g-bread house done today. I often do the same thing so that I actually looked like I was productive. LOL
Thank you so so much for sharing your house with my contest. i will email you the link to the contest post once it goes live so that you can share with your fam and friends to vote for you!!! ;)

9 12 2010
alexanderendo

thats awesome…im a new trakkers member too…

yum…im hungry now…and need to go make some lunch…but first ill vote…

9 12 2010
alexanderendo

i guess ill vote tomorrow…when its live

10 12 2010
Joel

So all those houses needed was about 1,000,000 lights on them to get the full Griswold treatment :-).

They look awesome!

10 12 2010
Mandy

That is awesome! I hope you get the iPod Touch!

11 12 2010
renee

I love the little mailbox!! Can’t find the voting on the link (you know me) Send me the link and I will vote.

11 12 2010
Cook It Allergy Free Gingerbread House Contest - Vote Now! | Cook It Allergy Free

[...] Kati Derrick, of Coach Katie’s Blog [...]

12 12 2010
Jeanine

Love it! Love all the detail you put into it. Well done!

12 12 2010
Anthony

Gingerbread North Pole all the way!

4 01 2013
http://www.aubrey.onlinewebsiteservice.com/displayimage.php?album=random&cat=1&pos=-10

It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the future and it’s time
to be happy. I have read this put up and if I may I wish to suggest you some attention-grabbing things or suggestions.

Maybe you could write next articles regarding this article.

I want to learn even more issues about it!

6 04 2013
クロエ 公式

Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

12 05 2013
cheap snapbacks

These have been well known because numerous many years. So,
there would constantly be a opportunity for you to get affordable snapback hats for sale.

Effectively, there are a lot of motives why you should to need a nearer seem at
it. Garments are hanging off their hangers or 50
% off the racks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 460 other followers

